Installation Failed.. :( Write Permission?

Hello Everyone!
I am new to the forum and new to SCT. I’m a complete noob with this stuff! However, with a case of spinal MS myself, I’m interested to see how this works out.
I ran into a terminal installation issue this morning running OSX 10.13.6 attempting to install SCT4.3.
The following warning came up, I’m sure it’s a simple fix, but I’m very new to Terminal. Many thanks in advance!

(mp)/sct_4.3 cannot be created. Make sure you have write permission.

Installation failed!

How do I go about gaining write permission? Thanks again!!! Cliff

Hi Cliff,

Could you please copy/paste your terminal history, so we know exactly what commands you’ve executed, and where?

cheers
julien

Yes sir, Thank you for the quick reply.
I am trying a few other things first.

Hello,
Please see the terminal response.
I read in another forum posting to run the source folder outside of the applications folder, so that’s what I am attempting to do.

@AmITrippen I see that you have spaces " " in your directory trees. Spaces should be avoided when working with Unix systems (Linux and OSX). Could you please replace those spaces by e.g. underscores “_” and re-run the command?

Cheers
Julien

Hello!
Thanks for the quick reply. I created a new user (admin) to clean up the spaces. Still having issues with the version.txt file. Take a look at the shots and see what you make of it. Thank you again!!

Hi Cliff,

Looks like the files you are trying to use are somewhat corrupted. Since I don’t know how you downloaded the files (and what manipulations you did), I would suggest to start fresh. Can you please open a Terminal and run the following commands:

cd ~
curl -o sct.zip -L https://github.com/neuropoly/spinalcordtoolbox/archive/4.3.zip
unzip sct.zip 
cd spinalcordtoolbox-*
yes | ./install_sct 

Let me know how it goes

Hi Julien,