What inputs should I provide to `sct_deepseg_sc`? (DICOM vs. NIFTI, sagiital vs. axial)

Example demo input:
sct_deepseg_sc -i t2.nii.gz -c t2 -qc ~/qc_singleSubj

1. Is the input only restricted to NIfTI images? I have DICOM images, but I will find a converter if necessary.

2. I want my output to be segmented images of the spinal cord in axial view, and I don’t need the sagittal view. However, does the input of sct_deepseg_sc need MRI scans that contain both sagittal and axial views? Originally, I was going to strip the input scans of the sagittal view, but it looks like the input in the demo needs the sagittal view that then generates axial view results.
    Should we also remove images from the input MRI scans that don’t have the spinal cord in clear view (i.e. outer irrelevant tissue and fat layers with no spinal cord), or is it fine to leave them in?

I’m a complete beginner to all of this, so if anyone could link beginner-friendly resources for these questions or answer them, thank you!

Hi @aliceyu2,

Thank you for reaching out.

Is the input only restricted to NIfTI images? I have DICOM images, but I will find a converter if necessary.

Yes, the input needs to be NIfTI images. So you can convert them using e.g. dcm2niix, which we recommend.

I want my output to be segmented images of the spinal cord in axial view, and I don’t need the sagittal view. However, does the input of sct_deepseg_sc need MRI scans that contain both sagittal and axial views?